Confusion regarding Volume Statistics for Stock Markets

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
xacobi

Confusion regarding Volume Statistics for Stock Markets

Post by xacobi » Wed May 15, 2019 6:11 am

Hi everyone. This is my first post. I have a few questions regarding volume data for stock markets. I'm pretty new to investing, markets, trading, but I do have about 2 years of experience, almost exclusively in cryptocurrency exchanges, which is a very different thing.

I use volume metrics and data significantly in my investing strategies, theories, and calculations. I have read a lot of trading and market information online regarding the importance of knowing and understanding the volume of the asset you are trading before going into a trade in the dark per se.

In my 2 years of experience in crypto markets, the crypto exchanges and the blockchain itself keeps a very specific and detailed accounting of all volume metrics and every single trade I do I have pretty good volumes for the current asset pair, along with all the other information needed to make a good trade. It isn't always perfect but it is pretty good.

Typically I use Tradingview.com as they seem to be one of the best charting sites. When I am doing trading and looking at the charts for crypto currencies, I can easily verify and match the exact volumes between Tradingview.com and the exchange and other sites that track volume.

So now to my question. Regarding the stock exchange like NYSE and NASDAQ, and of course Forex is even worse, but when I try to look at the trading volume and average trading volume of a high volume stock, lets say like apple or Amazon. It seems dificlut