Back testing assets: best results with long term treasury yet common advice is aggregated bonds or global bonds. Why?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
YRT70

Back testing assets: best results with long term treasury yet common advice is aggregated bonds or global bonds. Why?

Post by YRT70 » Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:16 am

I'm trying to learn more about asset allocation in portfolios. I'm quite new to it. I'm running tests with 60% stocks (half US half, global) and 40% bonds on this tool: https://www.portfoliovisualizer.com/bac ... allocation

It seems I get the best results with all bonds in long term treasury: the highest final balance and the lowest drop off in the worst year. But if I look at the common advice I see Vanguard recommending global bonds (which does worse in the tool) and the Boglehead wiki for my region (EU) recommends iShares aggregated bonds (probably also worse).

I understand back testing is no guarantee for the future. But why the discrepancy? Or am I missing something else?

Thanks.

midareff

Re: Back testing assets: best results with long term treasury yet common advice is aggregated bonds or global bonds. Why

Post by midareff » Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:23 am

What was may not be again. We are also diversification fans.

HEDGEFUNDIE

Re: Back testing assets: best results with long term treasury yet common advice is aggregated bonds or global bonds. Why

Post by HEDGEFUNDIE » Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:25 am

midareff wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:23 am
Long term Treasuries provide the best diversification for equities of any bond fund.

AlohaJoe

Post by AlohaJoe » Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:29 am

YRT70 wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:16 am
I'm trying to learn more about asset allocation in portfolios. I'm quite new to it. I'm running tests with 60% stocks (half US half, global) and 40% bonds on this tool: https://www.portfoliovisualizer.com/bac ... allocation