Why do foreign countries buy Treasury Bonds and not TIPS

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
tc101

Why do foreign countries buy Treasury Bonds and not TIPS

Post by tc101 »

Someone mentioned this a few weeks ago and I have been thinking about it ever since. If TIPS are a good deal, why don't foreign government buy them?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
stratton

Re: Why do foreign countries buy Treasury Bonds and not TIPS

Post by stratton »

tc101 wrote:Someone mentioned this a few weeks ago and I have been thinking about it ever since. If TIPS are a good deal, why don't foreign government buy them?
Only about 10% of tresuries are TIPS and they don't trade that much comparatively.

Where you can see this is the college endowments can be 9 or 10% TIPS such as Yales which would be ~$2 billion. Then you look at Calpers with $160 billion plus and they are like 3% TIPS which is ~$5 billion. I don't think Calpers can get enough to get more than 3% without tilting the market. I'm guessing some smaller endowments are probably loading up on TIPS right now while they are on sale.

Paul
asamir

Post by asamir »

Liquidity.
eurowizard

Post by eurowizard »

Why would a foreign country want to invest in something that indexes against another currencies inflation rate? Wouldnt it make more sense to hedge against their own currencies inflation?
ziggy29

Post by ziggy29 »

I don't know about foreign countries, but the more I think about it, the more it seems to make sense to buy TIPS and short regular Treasuries. If you believe (as I do) that eventually, all this money printing and debt issuing will be very inflationary and cause Treasury yields to spike, it seems like a long position in TIPS and a short position in Treasuries is a fairly low-risk arbitrage that will make money when/if inflation and long interest rates rise.
grumel

Post by grumel »