A Roth In Plan conversion is now available to me.

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
PhrugalPhan

A Roth In Plan conversion is now available to me.

Post by PhrugalPhan »

I just found out my 457 plan will start offering In Plan Roth conversions this year. To say I am surprised is an understatement as I keep abreast of upcoming changes in the plan and didn't see anything related to this. I'd like to ask a question or two here about this possibility.

A little / lot of background: I will be retiring at 60 when my golden handcuffs come off (4 more years). I've been investing in a Roth IRA since 2007 and have a near $150k balance. My 457 plan balance is near $580k and of that 24% is of a Roth balance. I've been trying to up the Roth percentage ever since it was allowed (around 2011?) and as such I currently put in ~70% Roth / 30% traditional and max out yearly. The plan has good funds / good expense ratios so I am happy leaving my funds in the plan as long as needed.

While altogether that yearly Roth amount may seem like a too high percentage I have some reasons for this. In retirement I will have not only SSI but a nice pension too. If I can make it 4 more years to full retirement, and then wait until 70 to take SSI, those two combined will give me 80% of my current salary. If you take out the pension contributions and taxes I pay today, those two will be near 100% of today's remaining salary which I am great with (actually my expenses are maybe 25% of salary). So any RMDs will be taxed at similar if not much higher rates than I pay today.

And then on top of that I have a girlfriend that has just retired as a Fed, has a very large TSP (much larger than my 457) and it only has maybe 4% as Roth funds, meaning with her pension as a Fed, SS income, and RMDs, her taxes are going to be crazy high after she is 70. For various financial reasons we will marry after I retire, not now.