Net net stocks

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
Hitmonchan

Net net stocks

Post by Hitmonchan » Tue Jan 08, 2019 11:41 pm

I am new to investing and have read a variety of books so far ranging from Graham to Bogle. Reading all of these convinced me that an indexed three fund portfolio is ideal. Recently, though, I discovered a site called netnethunter.com which says you can get 10-25% above market returns by following traditional graham techniques and buying incredibly cheap assets below net current asset value. These used to be availible in the US but are now mostly availible abroad. Reading through all of these articles, everything makes sense on the site and he seems to be following Graham fundamentals. Even Buffet slightly mentioned that he might buy these cheap stocks if he was managing small sums. The thing that most appeals to me in these techniques is that they are only good for small sums (under 10 Mil.). What are your opinions on this technique and website. Thanks.

David Jay

Re: Net net stocks

Post by David Jay » Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:15 pm

Welcome to the forum.

In general, Bogleheads subscribe to Jack Bogle’s advice to “buy the haystack” - that is - do not try to find individual great stocks but rather purchase broad-based index funds and accept the performance of the market. Here is a summary of our philosophy: https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Boglehe ... philosophy

This is likely why you have not received a reply before mine - I doubt that anyone on this forum knows anything useful about netnethunter.com

The problem with Graham style value investing is that it takes a lot of time and research. Most of us individual investors have jobs and families and are not able to make the necessary time investment. For the individual investor, the person on the other side of the trade is likely a professional with a full research department behind them.