Is the division of international markets into "developed" and "emerging" meaningful?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
tc101

Is the division of international markets into "developed" and "emerging" meaningful?

Post by tc101 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 1:55 pm

Is the division of international markets into "developed" and "emerging" meaningful? I charted them and they seem to be highly correlated. The two biggest countries in the emerging market index are China and Taiwan. Is it meaningful to say they are emerging?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

asif408

Re: Is the division of international markets into "developed" and "emerging" meaningful?

Post by asif408 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:34 pm

The US and developed international markets are highly correlated, yet the returns have differed pretty substantially over the last 6-7 years. You see a similar difference at times with emerging markets. Just look, for instance, at the performance from 2011-2016: https://www.portfoliovisualizer.com/ass ... ingDays=60

Correlations between developed and EM were 0.85, yet returns differed by 9% per year over that time frame. Same thing with the US and EAFE, 0.9 correlation, yet 9% difference in return per year. If you believe the magnitude of change matters as much or more than correlation, then yes, the division of international markets into developed and emerging has been meaningful in the past and will probably be meaningful in the future. If you believe correlation is primarily what matters, then no, it doesn't matter.