Too Complicated

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
bartlettjeff

Too Complicated

Post by bartlettjeff »

Guys, I have been investing w/ index fund (s) for 30 years., I love $VTI 100% up to age 50 year old., like Buffett says US has the 'secret sauce'. After 50 of age, you could look 10% short term T-bills 90% US market? Would be heck of a return if you look back!
PFInterest

Re: Too Complicated

Post by PFInterest »

is this just a statement?
radiowave

Post by radiowave »

and if the US market takes a 50% nosedive could you sleep well at night knowing your portfolio is now half its value?
Bogleheads Wiki: https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Main_Page
arcticpineapplecorp.

Post by arcticpineapplecorp. »

welcome to the forum.

are you asking a question?

If so, is it, "Hey, what do y'all think about a 90% VTI / 10% treasury portfolio from age 50 to death?" (as in that's how Warren B. recommended his trustee invest his money for the benefit of his wife)? Because that's not what he recommended, but it's close. He actually recommended 90% S&P500 and 10% short term treasuries.
My advice to the trustee couldn't be more simple: Put 10% of the cash in short-term government bonds and 90% in a very low-cost S&P 500 index fund. (I suggest Vanguard's.) I believe the trust's long-term results from this policy will be superior to those attained by most investors — whether pension funds, institutions or individuals — who employ high-fee managers.
source: https://www.marketwatch.com/story/warre ... 2014-03-13

that being said, two things:

1. looking backward doesn't help. If you think so try driving by only looking into the rear view mirror and see what happens.
The future may look very different from the past. We don't know. What we do know is "Past performance is no guarantee of future results."