Investing idea--what am I missing?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Null42

Investing idea--what am I missing?

Post by Null42 » Sat Nov 17, 2018 5:45 pm

Newbie here: I'm an early-middle-age investor (age 40) with a high salary (appx 250K) I don't expect to necessarily be able to maintain forever and am treating as a windfall rather than a reason to upgrade my lifestyle. I have been hoarding my cash for the past few years and now plan to start investing.

I am wondering: Vanguard has a nice selection of ETFs. It occurs to me one could 'surf' the cyclical changes in the various asset classes by regularly buying the ETF with the lowest P/E ratio each month, thus 'buying low' over the entire range of ETF-able asset classes. (Right now the lowest is non-US real estate.)

It is very, very unlikely I have come up with something thousands of other people before me have missed. What am I missing here?

MotoTrojan

Re: Investing idea--what am I missing?

Post by MotoTrojan » Sat Nov 17, 2018 8:59 pm

Null42 wrote:
Sat Nov 17, 2018 5:45 pm
Newbie here: I'm an early-middle-age investor (age 40) with a high salary (appx 250K) I don't expect to necessarily be able to maintain forever and am treating as a windfall rather than a reason to upgrade my lifestyle. I have been hoarding my cash for the past few years and now plan to start investing.

I am wondering: Vanguard has a nice selection of ETFs. It occurs to me one could 'surf' the cyclical changes in the various asset classes by regularly buying the ETF with the lowest P/E ratio each month, thus 'buying low' over the entire range of ETF-able asset classes. (Right now the lowest is non-US real estate.)

It is very, very unlikely I have come up with something thousands of other people before me have missed. What am I missing here?