UK total beginner book

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
BritAbroad

UK total beginner book

Post by BritAbroad » Sat Nov 17, 2018 9:43 am

I'd like to buy a family member a complete beginner's guide to investing. My brother is based in the UK and has little financial literacy. I'd like to get him a book that explains the basics with a UK 'hat on'... i.e. ideally recommendations for ISAs, UK accessible fund platforms/ETFs etc. The Boglehead community/reading list is often very US focused and I think he may be frustrated if he feels presented options are not relevant (e.g. ROTHs... not that I know what that is, just that I see it mentioned around here a lot!).

Can any UK Bogleheads share some recommendations?

I am currently looking at the following two, but don't think they exactly hit the brief:
  • The Little Book of Common Sense Investing
  • Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School

magneto

Re: UK total beginner book

Post by magneto » Sat Nov 17, 2018 10:11 am

Most good investment books are of US origin.
One UK book that might assist is :-
'Smarter Investing' by Tim Hale.
The title is misleading which might cause concern to a passive investor; but in fact contents are essentially passive.
'There is a tide in the affairs of men ...', Brutus (Market Timer)

Pizza_and_Beer

Post by Pizza_and_Beer » Sat Nov 17, 2018 10:25 am

BritAbroad wrote:
Sat Nov 17, 2018 9:43 am