Stupid question on treasury direct

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
dimbmw

Stupid question on treasury direct

Post by dimbmw » Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:52 pm

H guys
I ve placed my first order in treasury direct (13 week bills), and i am a little worried about the fact that i havent entered any limit order. I just set the amount of money i am willing to invest. Also there was a mandatory check box that i agree to pay whatever price they offer be it less or more than a par value. So how do i know that i will end up paying a fair price? I am a newbie so sorry for a probably dumb question but i’d feel more comfortable to set a limit order.
Thanks

tfb

Re: Stupid question on treasury direct

Post by tfb » Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:58 pm

dimbmw wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:52 pm
So how do i know that i will end up paying a fair price?
You will get the same price everyone else gets. That's just how the auction is designed. When you buy $1,000 you pay the same price as a bank buying $100 million.
Harry Sit, taking a break from the forums.

ofckrupke

Post by ofckrupke » Tue Oct 16, 2018 3:16 pm

tfb wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:58 pm
dimbmw wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:52 pm
So how do i know that i will end up paying a fair price?
You will get the same price everyone else gets. That's just how the auction is designed. When you buy $1,000 you pay the same price as a bank buying $100 million.
That addresses the matter of fairness vis a vis other buyers/bidders.
For the OP: wrt fairness of price between seller (UST) and buyers, this is delivered by the competitive bidding: the price struck will be the lowest that finds a willing buyer/bidder @price for every bond/note/bill offered. [Among the competitive bidders, some will get none, some (those who bid exactly the actual clearing price) will get a fraction of the quantity bid for, and some will get the full quantity bid for.]

Phineas J. Whoopee