What is your stock allocation in terms of your age, and why?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
tc101

What is your stock allocation in terms of your age, and why?

Post by tc101 »

My allocation is (110-age) in stocks, or to put it another way (age-10) in fixed income. I am 58 so my allocation is 52% stocks, 48% bonds. I am a retired software developer but may continue to take on some part time projects.

With the recent decline in stock prices I am way out of balance and will be rebalancing into stocks in December.

This is what I wrote in my financial plan last December when stocks were high: "I have no need to take any risk now. OTOH I enjoy seeing my money grow and there is always the risk of inflation or something unforeseen, so I am not going to go all bonds."

I am rethinking that now. I may change the allocation to 105 - age in stocks, or even 100 - age. I want to think about it for several months though. I don't want to make a hasty change based on emotion. I really don't need to take the risk of anything more than my age in stocks though. OTOH, if the stock market rebounds big time in the next 10 years it would be fun to be a rich old man because I kept a high allocation in stocks.
Topic Author
tc101

Post by tc101 »

The only two factors I considered in my allocation plan a year ago were stock/bond and USA/international. I felt those were the really important decisions and all the other stuff was much less important. My stock allocation was 55/45 but that has also changed with the recent rise in the dollar and sharper fall in international markets. I am also rethinking that allocation but again don't want to do anything hasty that is based on emotion.
guest42

Post by guest42 »