Best Fidelity Money Market Account to Hold Cash?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
duffer

Best Fidelity Money Market Account to Hold Cash?

Post by duffer » Tue Aug 07, 2018 12:01 pm

I am a complete novice with regard to holding cash in my investment accounts--I have always been fully invested. Now I want to start building a significant cash holding. Some will be in a taxable account and some will be in a tax-deferred account.

At the present time, what is the best way to hold cash in taxable and tax-deferred accounts held within Fidelity and Fidelity custodial accounts? Which specific money market fund is most attractive in terms of yield and other characteristics that matter for holding cash?

bloom2708

Re: Best Fidelity Money Market Account to Hold Cash?

Post by bloom2708 » Tue Aug 07, 2018 2:48 pm

Cash in a money market, CD or taxable money market makes sense for near term purchases (1-5 years).

What is the purpose of cash in tax-deferred accounts? "Dry powder" for the upcoming crash?

Vanguard has a Federal and a Prime money market. Prime is over 2%. I assume Fidelity has similar funds. Another option is high yield online savings (~1.75%) and FDIC insured.

Is this cash for a house down payment? A car purchase? Or for market timing? :wink:
"We are not here to agree with you; we are here to provoke thoughtfulness." Unknown Boglehead

MikeMak27

Post by MikeMak27 » Tue Aug 07, 2018 3:38 pm

I use SPRXX since it has the highest yield available to retail investors.
Mac 4 fund portfolio: 45% US small cap value (IJS, VBR), 40% Emerging Markets (IEMG, VWO, FPMAX), 10% long term US treasuries (TLT), 5% US REITS (VNQ)

SpaethCo

Post by SpaethCo » Tue Aug 07, 2018 3:59 pm

MikeMak27 wrote:
Tue Aug 07, 2018 3:38 pm
I use SPRXX since it has the highest yield available to retail investors.
I’m in the same boat here.

SPRXX when I get to choose, SPAXX when Fidelity chooses via sweep.