Heresy: is using a SP500 index still a valid strategy ?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Ready.Fire.Aim

Heresy: is using a SP500 index still a valid strategy ?

Post by Ready.Fire.Aim » Wed Jul 25, 2018 11:20 pm

How can a 3-Fund Portfolio investment strategy using a SP500 index fund ( VINIX) still be valid with only ten companies (FAANGS) dominating market earnings?

No longer is risk of loss spread amongst a broad pool of 500 companies in different sectors; changes in a few companies or a single sector ( technology) significantly affects the index. Thus changes in a few results in greater volatility.

Thus a key benefit of a stock index fund from risk diversification is greatly diminished.

Personal Perspective for context:

I've been using Vanguard index funds with satisfaction for 25+ years, I stayed 70/30 in 2000 and 2008 and did well in the long run as the stock side nicely rebounded.

However, this spring 2018 I transitioned from a three fund portfolio to a fixed income and bond portfolio yielding avg 2.7% until I gain a personal comfort level with these atypical market conditions.

I just retired in April, had been concerned our retirement plans were vulnerable to sequence of return risks with a FANGS dominated stock portfolio. Eliminating VINIX allowed me to sleep better.
I'm fortunate to have living expense needs met with a pension and the 2.7% return allows all of our retirement plans to be fulfilled.

I don't expect these conditions to last more than 2 or 3 years and do plan to transition back into SP500 index fund assuming a reversion to the historical mean.

Although I never posted, I've been a Bogleheads forum reader for several years ( not a troll) and have purchased & read the Bogleheads books.

Thanks,
RFA

Reference:
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... half-gains