KF's simple rules to achieve FI [Financial Independence]

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
KlangFool

KF's simple rules to achieve FI [Financial Independence]

Post by KlangFool » Fri Apr 20, 2018 2:53 pm

Folks,

The followings are some of the rules that I used. It may work for some folks. On this thread, I will compile some of them and provide the reasoning and thought behind those rules. You should adjust them based on your own circumstances.

I am an engineer. So, I am biased towards my income and circumstances, And, I am limited by my life experience.

Rule #1
Save 1 year of your current annual expense every year. Then, you could be FI in about 25 years even with 0% real growth.

Rule #2

Do not overspend on house, car, and college education. At engineer's income level, as long as he/she do not overspend on those large expenses, he/she can save 1 year of annual expense every year.

Rule #3

Use "Pay Yourself First" saving method. Auto-deduct from your paycheck and save and invest the proper amount. Spend the rest.

Rule #4

Contribute as much as possible to the tax-deferred accounts. Put the tax savings to the Roth IRAs and the taxable account.

Rule #5

Do not save for college education

Rule #6

Invest using all-in-one funds such as lifestrategy or target retirement fund. Do not go into slice and dice until your portfolio is 6 figures or bigger.

Rule #7

Pick an asset allocation between 70/30 to 30/70. At this saving level, it is good enough.

KF Rule for buying a house.

1) 20% down payment plus 30 years fixed rate mortgage. The PITI monthly payment has to be 20% to 30% lower than monthly rent.

2) The net worth excluding house has to be at least 2.5 times the price of the house.

Some of the parameters to be adjusted for the individual circumstances.