Why GNMAs Shouldn't Be Your Bond Choice

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
tc101

Why GNMAs Shouldn't Be Your Bond Choice

Post by tc101 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 10:46 am

Here is an article by Larry Sedroe back in 2010.

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/why-gnmas- ... nd-choice/

At that time he recommended against holding GNMAs, and even recommended against the total bond market fund because it held them. I read a lot about this on Bogleheads back about the time the article was written. I haven't seen the idea mentioned here in years. What are your thoughts?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

UpperNwGuy

Re: Why GNMAs Shouldn't Be Your Bond Choice

Post by UpperNwGuy » Sat Feb 03, 2018 10:59 am

I've seen several recent posts mention mortgage based securities. Usually MBS is mentioned when comparing the Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Fund (which has MBS) to the Vanguard Intermediate Term Bond Index Fund (which does not have MBS). Some of those who post dislike MBS, while others appear to be indifferent as to their presence in Total Bond. I don't think I've seen anyone get truly excited about MBS.

A similar topic that seems to be ignored for long periods of time is that of asset-backed securities. ABS show up in a lot of Vanguard bond mutual funds. Seems to me that they would have some of the same issues as MBS.

Disclosure: I own Total Bond.

Blueskies123

Post by Blueskies123 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:14 am

I also noticed there is very little discussion about GNMAs. I have had them for probably 20 years in my bond portfolio. I have read the Wiki about posting pictures but I still find it cumbersome to snap a pic from Portfolio Visualizer. PV only had 10 years of data but the GNMA had the best Sortino Ratio

https://www.portfoliovisualizer.com/bac ... ion3_3=100
Last edited by Blueskies123 on Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

montanagirl