Why hold total bond market fund when 7 year CDs yield more?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
tc101

Post by tc101 » Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:16 am

You can get a 7 year CD at Vanguard yielding 2.75%. The total bond market fund has a longer average maturity of 8.4 years, yields 2.65%, and is slightly less safe. Why buy the total bond market fund?

If you are are investing a large amount of money and the $250K FDIC insurance limit per bank is a problem I can understand that, but buying them from different banks easily insures you up to a million.

If you think you will need the money in less than 7 years I understand that, but for a long term investor with under a million in bonds, why would you buy the total bond market fund?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

jebmke

Re: Why hold total bond market fund when 7 year CDs yield more?

Post by jebmke » Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am

For many it is probably just convenience.
When you discover that you are riding a dead horse, the best strategy is to dismount.

renner

Post by renner » Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:31 am

history != future

livesoft

Post by livesoft » Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:31 am

I bought more total bond index fund yesterday. I bought it because it was down 1% YTD and I was rebalancing from equities (up 6% YTD) into bonds following my asset allocation plan. While many people talk about yield, I only care about Total Return. The yield on CD is its total return, but the yield on a bond fund is not usually its Total Return. Sometimes a bond fund goes down and sometimes it goes up.

2017 was a tough year for bond funds, yet they still outperformed CDs purchased in the past few years. I expect bond funds to outperform 7-year CDs purchased today.

And bond funds are up 0.25% to 0.3% today, so I already made some money.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.

dbr