likely date for a bitcoin crash: does this make sense to you?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
Lauretta

likely date for a bitcoin crash: does this make sense to you?

Post by Lauretta »

Someone I know (who seems to have been pretty succesful in money management) pointed out the following, when asked about Bitcoin:
'There are certain times in the year:
Tulips – first week of September 1637
Wall Street 1929 - September 3rd
Gold 1980 - January 21st
UK Tech mania 1999 - December 31st
US Tech mania 2000 - March 16th
Suggesting that the as we approach December 31st it might be time to get out of Bitcoin.
This does not make much sense to me since 5 pieces of individual data might well be random dates and would seem to be far from enough to make meaningful statistics (also the Uk and US manias are probably related). Still I have no experience in money management and this person does.
So does it make sense to you to think in terms of these past dates to infer a likeky date for the next (Bitcoin) crash?
When everyone is thinking the same, no one is thinking at all
Soon2BXProgrammer

Re: likely date for a bitcoin crash: does this make sense to you?

Post by Soon2BXProgrammer »

so your plan is to sell everything else and go all in until then?
Earned 43 (and counting) credit hours of financial planning related education from a regionally accredited university, but I am not your advisor.
Watty

Post by Watty »

People brains are wired to see patterns where there is none.

This is why we see things in the shapes of clouds and inkblots.
oldcomputerguy

Post by oldcomputerguy »

Nobody know nuthin’. Predictions of the exact time frame of the next crash (Bitcoin or anything else) are worthless.
There is only one success - to be able to spend your life in your own way. (Christopher Morley)
Topic Author
Lauretta

Post by Lauretta »