Concerns about investing abroad

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
airelleofmusic

Concerns about investing abroad

Post by airelleofmusic »

Hello,

I am French and I have been investing my money for 2 years on the TD Ameritrade platform (~20k$) on low-cost ETFs.

I definitely prefer investing through the US intead of my local country (France) for two reasons:

- I do not believe in the sustainablity of the EUR over the long term
- Financial products in France are quite expensive (minimum expense ratios for ETFs are 0.20%) whereas on TDA I have access to much less expensive products.

I am going to inherit some money (~30k) and expect to invest it again on TD Ameritrade.

Is it risky to do this ? Can the US government seize my money for any reason because I am not an US-resident ? May I be subject to some restrictions (now or in the future) to withdraw my money and bring it back to France ?

Many thanks !
LBYM and enjoy life ! Thanks BH !
GAAP

Re: Concerns about investing abroad

Post by GAAP »

Can the US government seize your money? Certainly, as can any other government for any valid or invalid reason -- historical examples abound.

The better question would whether or not it's likely that the US government would seize your money -- and I really doubt that. France is a US ally, and seizing assets from French citizens would drastically hurt that alliance. It's in the best interests of the US government not to do so.

I wouldn't worry about it.
Topic Author
airelleofmusic

Post by airelleofmusic »

Hum ok thanks for your answer. The issue is just that I feel a bit uncomfortable to know that my investments are abroad.
grabiner
Advisory Board

Post by grabiner »

airelleofmusic wrote: Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:22 pm I definitely prefer investing through the US intead of my local country (France) for two reasons: