Offensive Valuations

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
dcarste

Offensive Valuations

Post by dcarste » Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:09 pm

I'd like to post this and get replies. I am a business analyst by trade for a mega corp, so this is how I think.

1. I treat the S&P 500 as a "business", for which I can buy shares of this business.
2. As an analyst I know how fudged most of the accounting is, and so I use what nobody can really 'adjust' - REVENUES.
3. If I am a business owner, in which I can buy and sell the S&P 500 (the business, or "part of the business")...
4. Business are bought and sold on a "multiple" of say EBITA/EV etc,...or in my mind, a multiple of this business' (S&P 500) revenue.

Why in the world would I buy more shares of this "business" (S&P 500) right now, at a multiple of twice the historical average?

In fact, why am I not selling a lot of my business to others when I can get a great multiple/price on my business?

Now I know the market is psychological/behavioral game, but everything screams "CAUTION".

I know I'll get "you can't predict future returns". Your "timing the market". But I'm simply applying what every merger and acquisition group follows on buying companies at multiples, and selling companies if they can get a good multiple on their business.

I think a lot of us will look back at this valuation and hit ourselves in the head for not SELLING a good portion of our business to another buyer.

(Note I follow Benjamin Graham, own 50% stocks at fair valuation, 25% at what you view as high valuation, and 75% at good values)

I sure hope at the very least anyone within 10 years of retirement is following the "100 minus your age in stocks" rule from Bogle.

kosomoto

Re: Offensive Valuations

Post by kosomoto » Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:25 pm

1. Valuations can go higher, easily. Only half of Americans own stocks.