When stocks drop, which bond funds usually do best and worst?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
tc101

Post by tc101 » Mon Aug 14, 2017 1:53 pm

. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

DSInvestor

Re: When stocks drop, which bond funds usually do best and worst?

Post by DSInvestor » Mon Aug 14, 2017 1:57 pm

You can check Vanguard's fund listings and adjust to show yearly returns. This display shows returns by year going back to 2007. This would show you how funds did in 2008/2009. I was happy with Total Bond Index's 5% gain in 2008 while stocks were taking a dive. I think treasury bond funds did pretty well in that time but some had wild swings up and down. e.g. Vanguard Long term Treasury was +22$% for 2008 and -12% for 2009. Intermediate Term Treasury was +13% for 2008 and -1.69 for 2009.
Last edited by DSInvestor on Mon Aug 14, 2017 2:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

KyleAAA

Post by KyleAAA » Mon Aug 14, 2017 1:58 pm

I'd guess treasuries would do best in a rush to safety, but I'm too lazy to actually check.

SimpleGift

Post by SimpleGift » Mon Aug 14, 2017 2:36 pm

tc101 wrote:
Mon Aug 14, 2017 1:53 pm
Clearly, Treasuries have historically provided the best portfolio protection during market corrections and periods of market stress (chart below) — and they will most likely continue to so. But other high-quality bonds (corporates, munis, international, etc.) have done almost as well. So Treasuries are a good choice to offset equity risk, but just not the only choice.

Bond categories that haven't helped historically are high-yield bonds and emerging market bonds.
Cordially, Todd

tc101

Post by tc101 » Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:42 pm

How about short term vs intermediate term during a market down turn. Is there any pattern?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

zonto

Post by zonto » Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:04 pm