VCIT Year to Date growth? Exactly how is it calculated

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
cpumechanic

VCIT Year to Date growth? Exactly how is it calculated

Post by cpumechanic »

Sorry if this dumb question but when I look up VCIT on morningstar I see that it says the NAV is up 3.49% Year to date.

When I look at the closing price on Dec 30 2016 I see a value of 85.7 $/share.. and the closing price on Friday July 20th was 88.02.

When I divide those two values I get 1.02707117853, or 2.7% change in price from Year end 2016 to last Friday.

Why does Morningstar report 3.49%.

Here is the link... not sure how to post a screen image.

http://performance.morningstar.com/fund ... ion?t=VCIT

Thanks in advance.. I was a nerd engineer fixing stuff for many years.. not thinking about NAV and all the money stuff.

:sharebeer

CPU
Kevin M

Re: VCIT Year to Date growth? Exactly how is it calculated

Post by Kevin M »

Price return is as of 6/30. How does your calculation using the 6/30 price come out?
If I make a calculation error, #Cruncher probably will let me know.
Kevin M

Post by Kevin M »

Kevin M wrote:Price return is as of 6/30. How does your calculation using the 6/30 price come out?
No, that still doesn't work out.

I think M* is using adjusted price, which accounts for dividend distributions.

Kevin
stlutz

Post by stlutz »

The 3.49% includes reinvested dividends.

To use a hypothetical, suppose a fund was priced at $10 on 12/31/2016 and you owned 100 shares, or $1000. On 3/31/2017, it was at $10.50 and it paid a $.25 dividend. That comes right out of the fund, so the price drops to $10.25. So, if you reinvest that you now have you original 100 shares plus .25/10.25 * 100 = 102.439 shares.

On 6/30/2017, the fund is priced at $11. The value of your holding is 102.439 * 11 = $1126.83. So, your total return is 12.68% even though the price of the fund was up 10.00%.
Kevin M