When you purchase shares, where does the money go?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
mowill74

When you purchase shares, where does the money go?

Post by mowill74 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:06 pm

Hello, I am new to investing and I am trying to understand the stock market as a whole.
The company that I work for uses Vanguard for our 401k retirement accounts. I have the Vanguard Target Retirement 2035 fund and the Vanguard Target Retirement 2040 fund. Every pay period money is taken out to buy shares in the fund. Can someone explain the process of what happens to the money when you buy shares in a mutual fund or shares of stock? Does the money go to the companies themselves that you are buying the shares from? I know there are fees involved but wasn't sure where the money actually goes when you buy shares in a fund or a stock. Thanks,

mcraepat9

Re: When you purchase shares, where does the money go?

Post by mcraepat9 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:10 pm

mowill74 wrote:Hello, I am new investing and I am trying to understand the stock market as a whole.
The company that I work for uses Vanguard for our 401k retirement accounts. I have the Vanguard Target Retirement 2035 fund and the Vanguard Target Retirement 2040 fund. Every pay period money is taken out to buy shares in the fund. Can someone explain the process of what happens to the money when you buy shares in a mutual fund or shares of stock? Does the money go to the companies themselves that you are buying the shares from? I know there are fees involved but wasn't sure where the money actually goes when you buy shares in a fund or a stock. Thanks,