My Roth Misunderstanding

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
kylemerriman

My Roth Misunderstanding

Post by kylemerriman »

I am new to all of this...
When calculating for retirement I have been planning on withdrawing 100% of my roth at 60 years old and 100% of my wife's roth when she is 70 years old. Now that I am reading the four pillars of investing I see my mistake. Instead of taking the future value of my roth and dividing it by the number of years I want it to last to obtain an annual salary, I should be aiming for an overall balance that will allow me to live off of the interest without ever "cashing out" 100% of the roth balance, but instead letting it continue to grow. Not sure why but I didn't think about living off the interest. This will allow me to not have to fully fund two roths, but only one, and free up capital now to invest in other areas. So if I live to 80 can the roth keep growing or does it have to be completely "cashed out" at 70? Given my income it is not feasible to fully fund two right now.
Wakefield1

Re: My Roth Misunderstanding

Post by Wakefield1 »

I intend that my Roth IRA principal be money that I wouldn't touch except as a last resort. One of the attractions of the Roth IRA is no required old age distributions as long as you live,unlike the regular IRA.
Of course you might think of withdrawing earnings from the Roth IRA but not drawing the principal down as prudent.
Last edited by Wakefield1 on Sun Jan 22, 2017 11:13 am, edited 3 times in total.
PFInterest

Post by PFInterest »

I'm not sure I am following you but there are no RMDs for rIRAs. You only pull out what you need to spend.
Topic Author
kylemerriman

Post by kylemerriman »