To Use Vanguard PAS Or Not

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
barrydmd1

To Use Vanguard PAS Or Not

Post by barrydmd1 » Sat Dec 10, 2016 3:44 pm

I am age 72 and retired. The only income my wife and I have is Social
Security. I have $295,000 in 21 Vanguard funds that were set up for me
by a friend of mine who is a certified financial planner. I want to simplify
the portfolio with three or four balanced funds at Vanguard.

I have a small monthly income from the sale of a small business which will give
me enough money that I will not have to start drawing down from my portfolio
until two and a half years from now.

I have learned a lot about investing over the past 4 years, but I am no expert.
I have an interview set up in January with Vanguard Personal Advisor Service.
From reading the posts on Bogleheads forum, it seems that for the most part,
the advisors seem to favor placing investors in the four total stock and total
bond funds. The forum posters seem to agree that if you are at least a
little knowledgeable about investing, you should be able to manage your own
portfolio with a little help from Bogleheads.

For instance, I could do a 50/50 split of Lifestrategy Moderate Growth and
Conservative Growth which would give me a 50/50 stock-bond allocation.
In a few years, if I need to be more conservative , I could move to 100%
Conservative Growth. I’m a little hesitant about the 40% international position, though.

What do you think?

tomd37

Re: To Use Vanguard PAS Or Not

Post by tomd37 » Sat Dec 10, 2016 5:17 pm

"$295,000 in 21 Vanguard funds that were set up for me by a friend of mine who is a certified financial planner." And you are claiming him as "a friend"? :oops:
Tom D.

retire57

Post by retire57 » Sat Dec 10, 2016 5:32 pm

This is just my short-term personal opinion regarding the need for the PAS as we have only used V-guard's service for 19 months.