Inflation Protection: TIPS or Gold?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
DontTimeIt

Inflation Protection: TIPS or Gold?

Post by DontTimeIt » Thu Nov 17, 2016 12:05 am

In addition to a traditional 3-fund portfolio, id like to add some protection against inflation as I suspect is likely to be on the rise now and for many many years to come.

How do TIPS & Gold each protect against inflation, how do they differ, and which do you use or recommend ?

I am a very novice investor so I hope there is someone here willing to take a moment to offer advice. Thank you.

beardsworth

Re: Inflation Protection: TIPS or Gold?

Post by beardsworth » Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:42 am

Welcome to the forum.

It's nearly always a good idea to use that search box at the top of the Bogleheads page to see what's previously been discussed about a topic before starting a new thread.

Searches for "gold inflation" and "TIPS gold" produced these other results which you may find helpful:

https://www.google.com/search?sitesearc ... +inflation

https://www.google.com/search?sitesearc ... =TIPS+gold

carolinaman

Post by carolinaman » Thu Nov 17, 2016 8:17 am

IMO, gold is a really bad long term investment. There are a number of TIPS advocates on this forum but I am not one of them. However, if you have to choose between the 2, TIPS is clearly the best. Personally, I prefer to invest in equities. Over the long term, studies have shown that equities are a good hedge against inflation.

Jack FFR1846

Post by Jack FFR1846 » Thu Nov 17, 2016 8:28 am

If you had taken $20,000 five years ago and split it into 2 groups, with $10,000 buying gold and $10,000 in cash stuffed under your mattress, the cash under your mattress would have greatly outperformed gold. (gold was $1700 an oz 5 years ago, $1200 today)