Vanguard Brokerage cost basis problems

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
alvinsch

Vanguard Brokerage cost basis problems

Post by alvinsch »

I've been fighting Vanguard Brokerage for 7 months now trying to get them to fix their cost basis and tax reporting software but to no avail and I don't know what else I can do. They admit they have a software bug but after 7 months they've been unable / unwilling to fix it (continuously lying over the 7 months that they were working on it). In the meantime, I can't file my 2015 taxes without assuring an audit and I can't tax loss harvest shares in the effected security because they wiped out my cost basis information.

On 11/26/14 the Kinder Morgan merger became effective so my KMP units were merged into KMI shares in a taxable event at a reported price of $41.535 per IRS regulations. After the merger the cost basis information was all correct at Vanguard. In June of 2015 I sold some of those shares at a loss for tax loss harvesting purposes, by using specific identification. My next statement showed the transaction correctly and showed the correct loss resulting from the sale.

Then in 2016, Vanguard wiped out the cost basis of almost half my shares (the shares from the 11/26/14 merger of my KMP units), and since their software believes the specifically identified shares no longer exist they selected the lowest price shares to report on my 1099B (i.e. so instead of a $41.535 basis they used shares with a roughly $11 basis for tax reporting).