Numeracy and Wealth

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
matjen

Numeracy and Wealth

Post by matjen » Sun May 01, 2016 9:56 am

Well I'm not very good with numbers (compared to science and math types) but I took very quickly at a young age to the power of compounding. I am thankful to the late Richard Russell for writing a powerful article on the topic which my father gave to me at a young age.

http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/ar ... 7016000234
Numeracy is defined as the ability to understand and use numerical information.
Highlights
• We find a robust and significant correlation between numeracy and wealth.
• Our results are not explained by differences in preferences, constraints, or beliefs.
• Numeracy is a key determinant of the wealth accumulation trajectory (5-year period).
• The low numerate (but not the high numerate) participants decumulate wealth.
A man is rich in proportion to the number of things he can afford to let alone.

vitpx

Re: Numeracy and Wealth

Post by vitpx » Sun May 01, 2016 10:11 am

A favorite book on this topic: Innumeracy by Paulos. Highly recommended.

letsgobobby

Post by letsgobobby » Sun May 01, 2016 10:43 am

I liked "innumeracy", but it also left me very sad.

k66

Post by k66 » Sun May 01, 2016 12:02 pm

Here's a numeracy test:

https://www.kent.ac.uk/careers/tests/mathstest.htm

in case you wanted to self-evaluate.
LOSER of the Boglehead Contest 2015 | lang may yer lum reek

Goldfinger

Post by Goldfinger » Sun May 01, 2016 1:39 pm

I loved Innumeracy by Paulos. I have a natural ability to think along statistical / probability lines. I am not an engineering type, though. Calculus was something I really had to work at. Stats / Finite math were the exact opposite. Strange dichotomy.