Financial burnout

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
Jacksonhole

Financial burnout

Post by Jacksonhole » Sun Mar 27, 2016 10:16 am

How do you handle it and/or avoid it? I am a physician now entering my 6th year of work in a busy practice. By all measures I make a good income and have done a fairly good job of saving and paying down debt. The only debt we have left is about $260,000 on our home, originally purchased for $700,000 about 3.5 years ago. 15 year mortgage at 3.625% with about 12 years to go. We have been diligent about paying it off, and have decreased the balance by about $200,000 in the last 12 months thanks to a nice windfall from investments. My best estimate is to have the house paid for in 2 more years which continues to feel overwhelming at times despite the progress we have made.

Over the past 5 years, we have also save 20% for retirement (totaling around $450,000) as well as about $150,000 in 529's for our three little children (6,4,and 1). At the start, we literally had a negative net worth and have pushed hard to change that. I have always felt that once the house is paid off, I could take a portion of those payments every month and "enjoy" the money, but currently look at expendatures in terms of how many more months of mortgage payments it equals. I guess I am struggling with the feeling you have in the middle of a marathon in how to keep going? My marathon running experience was not to focus on the process but the experience, but I am having a hardtime translating that to my financial life. What is your secret? Any advice is appreciated.

ridebikeseveryday

Re: Financial burnout

Post by ridebikeseveryday » Sun Mar 27, 2016 10:27 am

Stop being so aggressive about paying off your mortgage. Pay whatever the monthly payments are, and spend the difference on your family for a while.

Lynette

Post by Lynette » Sun Mar 27, 2016 10:28 am