Why invest in international?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
tdo1966

Why invest in international?

Post by tdo1966 » Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:35 pm

I am not an expert investor, more of an interested investor seeking knowledge. I am new to the Bogleheads, and I recently been reading various articles and interviews with/about Jack Bogle and his investing philosophy. After becoming aware of his views on international investing, I looked at the two international funds available in my 401k (Fidelity Spartan Int'l Index and American Funds Europacific Growth). These funds have annualized returns over a 10 year period of just 1.55% and 3.07% respectively. All of the bond funds available in my 401k have better returns with out the volatility. Most 'experts' tell you that you need invest a portion of your portfolio in international for a diversified portfolio. But, with the low returns and high volatility, I don't get it. What am I missing?

mhc

Re: Why invest in international?

Post by mhc » Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:43 pm

Part of what you are missing is that you are only looking at one 10 year period. That is not a large enough sample size to determine much.

lack_ey

Post by lack_ey » Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:51 pm

Do you realize how inconsistent and unpredictable stock returns are for a given decade?

Extrapolating based on the past ten years is a really bad idea. If nothing else you should look at longer-term data:
http://publications.credit-suisse.com/t ... 0FAF7A4A65

Consider starting and ending conditions with respect to market size and what happened in between. How much are differences in returns attributable to one-time events, luck, and conditions that no longer exist, and how much to underlying and potentially persistent attributes that are applicable in the future?

Broadly your question is one of the most commonly discussed, so here's a sampling of recent threads:
viewtopic.php?t=185252