Why buy now, why not wait until the market really crashes??

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
riptide

Why buy now, why not wait until the market really crashes??

Post by riptide »

I am still learning, and I am staying the course with my portfolio 2/3 stocks, 1/3 bonds. I am seeing my portfolio steadily drop and have unrecognized losses of quite a bit. However; I see people saying they are buying. Why? The market is only down 12% or so, correct? Why buy stocks now, why not wait until the market really crashes like down 20% or 30%? It would seem stocks would really be on sale then, since they have been so overpriced throughout 2015. Holding what I have, not buying or selling anything right now.
Brokerage account-100% stocks | VG total Market 55% | VG small cap value 20% | VG Reit index 25% | | TSP Account 75C/25S | C Fund75%, S25%, | | Bonds: U.S. Treasury 5 year Note, 1 year T Bill
xjz

Re: Why buy now, why not wait until the market really crashes??

Post by xjz »

Short answer: Because nobody can tell you with any level of certainty whether the market will "really crash". This is market timing.
jackholloway

Post by jackholloway »

You never know when the market will bottom. We see 10% moves all the time, and if you capture them, then you do, well, 10% better. Of course, if you wait for them, and the market goes up for a year, you lose - I expected more turbulence two years ago.

This is why there is the "stay the course" and "do not market time" mantras around here.

In my case, I redirect new contributions every quarter when I sell company stock, and every month when I look at my ongoing contributions. A month ago, my 65/35 AA was at 67/33. Now, it is 64/36, and since I sold off a block of company stock recently, I will true it up. If it goes down another 10-20%, I will buy again.
GoldenFinch

Post by GoldenFinch »