Index bubble?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
student5

Index bubble?

Post by student5 »

Hi All,

I'm new to Bogleheads, but have been reading many posts and learning from them. It's been greatly helpful and encouraging to me. I have moved my portfolio from a financial adviser to Vanguard based on what I've learnt from the many missives on this forum. My current question is based on this article- http://www.cnbc.com/2016/01/14/watch-ou ... =103301093.

Can anyone comment on this?

Thanks,

Bill
mhalley

Re: Index bubble?

Post by mhalley »

When I read the article I was struck by all of these phrases:
Could put pressure
Cold be aProblem
Problem may arise
Potential problem
This is unfamiliar territory
Vaguely right
Sounds like a bunch of vagueness to me.
Phineas J. Whoopee

Post by Phineas J. Whoopee »

My interpretation of the subtext:

Onoz! OMG! Onoz! OMG!

Where will my next sailboat payment come from?

They're about to repossess my riding lawnmower!

PJW

P.S. Oh, and welcome to the forum!
Last edited by Phineas J. Whoopee on Sat Jan 16, 2016 8:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Call_Me_Op

Post by Call_Me_Op »

IMO, this is yet another attempt by a desperate financial services industry to disparage index funds.
Best regards, -Op | | "In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity." Einstein
TheTimeLord

Post by TheTimeLord »

I assume index ETFs have the potential to act the same as a crowded trade in an individual stock if everyone was to try to head for the door. Definitely has the potential for ugliness but usually real ugliness requires the presence of extreme leverage to make the momentum feed upon itself to the downside.
IMHO, Investing should be about living the life you want, not avoiding the life you fear. | Run, You Clever Boy! [9085]
Phineas J. Whoopee