The 'Monday Effect'?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
joer1212

The 'Monday Effect'?

Post by joer1212 » Mon Jun 08, 2015 2:08 pm

I have noticed that stocks tend to rise on Fridays and dip on Mondays. I don't know what this can be attributed to. Perhaps people get exuberant as the weekend draws near, and dejected when it ends?

At any rate, I have been tracking the market for over 2 years now, and I have repeatedly noticed this pattern.
The thing is, contributions go into my 401(k) on Fridays, on a biweekly basis. I can't tell you how many times I watched helplessly as my money went in during a market spike on Friday, subsequently dropping on the following Monday, and thereby causing me to miss a buying opportunity.

I know it may seem that I am trying to 'time the market', but, from what I've observed, the Monday effect happens more often than not, so I think it warrants a discussion.

Also, I know I'm supposed to have a long-term view of the market, and not worry about day-to-day swings, but I wonder-- if it were possible to defer my 401(k) contributions to Mondays, wouldn't this result in higher returns over many years (assuming the phenomenon persists?).
Has anyone else here noticed the Monday effect? Is there a way to take advantage of it in your deferred compensation plan?*

* I know I could simply call my 401(k) administrator to inquire about this, but I wanted to run this by you guys & set me straight before I do anything.
Last edited by joer1212 on Mon Jun 08, 2015 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dkturner

Re: The 'Monday Effect'?

Post by dkturner » Mon Jun 08, 2015 2:18 pm

joer1212 wrote:I have noticed that stocks tend to rise on Fridays and dip on Mondays. I don't know what this can be attributed to. Perhaps people get exuberant as the weekend draws near, and dejected when it ends?