Short term bonds in rising interest rates?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
allroads

Short term bonds in rising interest rates?

Post by allroads »

I was reading an article that quoted William Bernstein on the topic of bonds. His position is to invest in short term high grade bond funds exclusively. One point in the article talked about the risk of rising interest rates as it relates to bonds and that the shorter duration of the bond fund, the less risk exposure to interest rates. I'm a newbie here so I hope that last statement is correct, and I welcome any needed correction by others.

Though the fed has hinted to rising interest rates for awhile, it does sound like its only a matter of time until they follow through, even if its not in 2015. Do people here use a short term fund (or even a CD ladder) to decrease their interest risk? I hope this doesn't sound like market timing (i don't mean it to), but since the fed is unnaturally manipulating interest rates, does that even offer more interest rate risk for the near future? A thought is to maybe use a short term fund or cd ladder until interest rates are less manipulated and then reallocate to an intermediate fund ?!?
"All Roads Lead to Rome." "Compound interest is the eighth wonder of the world" - Einstein
billyt

Re: Short term bonds in rising interest rates?

Post by billyt »

At the present time rates are falling, not rising. The Fed may raise short term rates, but the market has much more control over longer rates. No one can tell you if investing in short term bonds today will turn out to have been the winning strategy 10 years from now.
dkturner

Post by dkturner »