When do your account returns dwarf your contributions?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
Ganacel

When do your account returns dwarf your contributions?

Post by Ganacel »

I'm just getting started, so right now my contributions are high even compared to my account total, let alone compared to my dividends and other investment returns. Just curious at what point your dividend income began to dwarf your contributions. And at this point, did you still continue to make contributions? To ask another way, when do you think continuing to fund your account becomes superfluous because your contributions are so relatively small? Or maybe that never happens?

If I use a tax-deferred account and assume a 5% return for the sake of simplicity, I'm getting that the "break even" point where my contribution equaled my investment return should be around $360,000, assuming I put in the (2015) max of $18,000/year. And for a Roth earning 5% with a $5500 yearly contribution, it should be around $110,000. Obviously my return could be way off, but assuming it wasn't, am I calculating the break even point right? So if your account earned nothing, you would reach that point in 20 years, or longer if your return was less (ex. 25 years for 4% return).

Thanks, and I hope these questions make sense.
RunningRad

Re: When do your account returns dwarf your contributions?

Post by RunningRad »

I see what you are saying, and I do recall such a tipping point, not so much because the returns exceeded the contributions, but because I started to become less compulsive about making the investment the minute the funds hit an account. Of course, presuming you want your account to grow, contributions and returns will allow it to grow much faster than returns alone. Every month I add about 0.2% to my portfolios and have never considered this to be "superfluous".