need help with basic investing math

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
schmitz

need help with basic investing math

Post by schmitz » Fri Sep 05, 2014 5:41 pm

please bare in mind that these numbers are rounded just for the sake of discussion. I also admit I am not a pro at investing so any help is appreciated (please dont laugh at me too much :happy).

say you start with 50k invested and add 10k per year for 5 years. and each of those 5 years makes 10% return.
however, the 6th year the market crashes and loses 50%.

year 1: 50k + 10% = 55k + 10k invested = 65k
year 2: 65k + 10% = 71.5k + 10k invested = 81.5k
year 3: 81.5k + 10% = 89.7k + 10k invested = 99.7k
year 4: 99.7k + 10% = 109.7k + 10k invested = 119.7k
year 5: 119.7k + 10% = 131.7k + 10k invested = 141.7k

then the crash...

year 6: 141.7 - 50% = 70.6k

so after 6 years you have put in 100k and you are down to 70.6k. so about 30%.
five 10% increases + one 50% drop = 30% drop. yikes.

now like i said these are made up numbers but it makes me wonder, how (in the long run) does investing even work when drops hurt a lot more than rises in the market help. i think my math is right but my logic is wrong. for me personally, i started investing about 3-4 years ago so ive really only seen the good of the market (it was pure luck when i decided to get into investing). then i read rumors that the inevitable crash is coming...if i lose 50% of my portfolio itll easily wipe out everything ive earned the entire time...plus more. im not planning on selling anything now or if it crashes (got awhile until retirement) however, it does concern me. and i know the market, in the long run, does go up.

my guesses as to where im wrong:
1) the market goes up usually more than 10% on its up years
2) the market goes up more than 5 out of every 6 years (83% of the time)
3) when the market crashes it wont be 50%
or some combo of the above?

dickenjb