How and when did you do it - to get to 1 Million

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
migmarks

How and when did you do it - to get to 1 Million

Post by migmarks »

Hello everyone,

Have been learning a lot on the forum and have been trying to plan for the future (I'm in my mid 20s), starting out with a new job.

For those in the two comma club and those that have "won the game," could you share how you got there? How much you put away, when, where, and how long it took? Any other pointers?

So far, I've been doing a lot of reading and have set up an asset allocation and basic 3 fund portfolio and plan to max out my retirement accounts and save as much as I can. Since I am just starting out, I thought the advice, experiences, and real stories of those than have been in the race a lot longer than me would be very helpful.

Thanks
RadAudit
Location: Second star on the right and straight on 'til morning

Re: How and when did you do it - to get to 1 Million

Post by RadAudit »

Here's a link that'll give you some insight.

http://www.bogleheads.org/forum/viewtop ... st=1754226

Based on some back of the envelope calculations, if you continue on the present course and earn about 7% PA you'll be there in 25 years + / -

Good luck.
FI is the best revenge. LBYM. Invest the rest. Stay the course. - PS: The cavalry isn't coming, kids. You are on your own.
Ged

Post by Ged »

migmarks wrote:Hello everyone,

Have been learning a lot on the forum and have been trying to plan for the future (I'm in my mid 20s), starting out with a new job.

For those in the two comma club and those that have "won the game," could you share how you got there? How much you put away, when, where, and how long it took? Any other pointers?