Standard Deviation Calculation Help

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
JonLuskin

Standard Deviation Calculation Help

Post by JonLuskin »

Hello,

I'm composing my thesis on investment management (though my background is not in finance) and am failing to accurately calculate the standard deviation for a given data set: S&P 500 annual returns, 2003-2012.

Using a software program to create portfolios, the standard deviation of the S&P 500 from January 2003 to December 2012 is computed as 4.26%. My calculations are hovering between 17.38% (doing the calculation myself) and 18.32% (using =STDEV in Excel).

I've checked my work many times (I've spent all day on this), but can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. I know that I'm using the same data set as the software program database, because I am able to accurately calculate the same annualized returns as the software program (7.10%).

Here are the annual returns for 2003 onwards.

28.68%
10.88%
4.91%
15.79%
5.49%
-37.00%
26.46%
15.06%
2.11%
16.00%

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for your help,
J
stlutz

Re: Standard Deviation Calculation Help

Post by stlutz »

To start with, an annual standard deviation of 4 is definitely not correct. Possibly the program is calculating a monthly standard deviation using monthly returns? In Excel, compare your results of STDEV vs. STDEVP.
livesoft

Post by livesoft »

What happens if you express your numbers not as a percentage, but as ....
28.68 -> 1.2868
-37.00 -- 0.63
?

Are you trying to figure out the S.D. of the S&P500 or the S.D. of the returns of the S&P500? And are the "annual returns" with or without dividends?
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
Verde

Post by Verde »

To convert annual sd to monthly sd you divide by sqrt(12).
So 17.38/sqrt(12) = 5.02

Hope that helps.
nisiprius
Advisory Board