Mgmt fees & distributions: Bond Funds v. Equity Funds

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
troysapp

Mgmt fees & distributions: Bond Funds v. Equity Funds

Post by troysapp »

In a recent thread I noticed what seemed to be confusion about how mutual fund distributions and management fees work. I’ve 14 years’ experience with accounting, compliance, tax prep, shareholder reporting, shareholder distributions, etc. with four 1940 Act Funds, so I thought I’d attempt to shed light on how Fund distributions and expenses work.

Management fees
Management fees work the same for both bond and equity funds. At the end of each day a Fund’s management fee is calculated with the following equation:

(Net Asset Value x Management Fee Rate)/365 days = management fee for the day

The result of this equation is then booked as a fund expense and a payable each day. The management fee payable is generally paid either monthly or quarterly.

Distributions to Shareholders
Distributions from bond funds (including money market funds) and equity funds differ.

Bond Funds:
Typically, bond fund distributions are declared daily and payable monthly. This is why a shareholder that redeems a bond fund mid-month will receive a residual distribution at month end.

Typically, a daily bond fund distribution calculation goes something like this: (Accrued Interest for the day + Accretion of Bond Discounts for the day – Amortization of Bond Premiums for the day – Daily Management Fee Accrual for the day – Other Expenses for the day)/Daily dividend shares = Per Share Dividend Accrual Payable at Month-End.

The Daily Dividend Accrual for bond funds is then booked as a distribution to shareholders and a payable. The payable is then paid at the end of each month.

This should make sense since the holder of a bond also accrues interest each day.

Equity Funds: