XIRR question - beginner

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
lethean46

XIRR question - beginner

Post by lethean46 » Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:28 pm

This is my first attempt to use XIRR. I'm stuck and need some guidance. I'm trying to determine rate of return on one RO/IRA account for 2012. This is what I've done so far.

I opened an Excel worksheet. I input VALUES in column A. A1 is negative for account balance at 12/31/2011. A2 is positive for account balance at 12/31/2011. Then A3 through A12 list various withdrawals throughout the year. A13 is negative for account balance at 12/31/2012.

Column B lists the dates - manually entered in format 2011,12,31 for 12/31/2011. Etc.

Lastly, I clicked on Cell A15 and manually entered: =XIRR(A2:A13,B2:B13,10%). Then hit Enter. The Cell reads: #VALUE.

Can someone straighten me out? What have I done wrong?

Thanks for any help.

ML

sscritic

Re: XIRR question - beginner

Post by sscritic » Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:30 pm

lethean46 wrote:This is my first attempt to use XIRR. I'm stuck and need some guidance. I'm trying to determine rate of return on one RO/IRA account for 2012. This is what I've done so far.

I opened an Excel worksheet. I input VALUES in column A. A1 is negative for account balance at 12/31/2011. A2 is positive for account balance at 12/31/2011. Then A3 through A12 list various withdrawals throughout the year. A13 is negative for account balance at 12/31/2012.

Column B lists the dates - manually entered in format 2011,12,31 for 12/31/2011. Etc.

Lastly, I clicked on Cell A15 and manually entered: =XIRR(A2:A13,B2:B13,10%). Then hit Enter. The Cell reads: #VALUE.

Can someone straighten me out? What have I done wrong?

Thanks for any help.

ML
I think 10% has to be 0.1

P.S. I just used it for the first time today as well.

FinancialDave

Post by FinancialDave » Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:32 pm