Windows 8: Time to Short Microsoft?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
RooseveltG

Windows 8: Time to Short Microsoft?

Post by RooseveltG » Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:01 am

I am an indexer so am just floating this thought. It seems that Window's new interface is scaring off a lot of Windows 7 users who would like to upgrade. I think many of us also have upgrade fatigue because we are tired of forking over hard earned cash for incremental software improvements.

IF I was a trader, I would consider shorting MSFT. It will be interesting to see if this happens. As an indexer, I hope my prediction that the stock will fall is wrong. Or it may already be factored into the price.

Roosevelt.

linguini

Re: Windows 8: Time to Short Microsoft?

Post by linguini » Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:01 am

Windows Vista is widely regarded as a dramatic failure for Microsoft and was panned by consumers. Microsoft's stock was a bit over $30 when Vista was released in January, 2007. A year later, January 2008, Microsoft's stock had risen to $33. I'm not saying Microsoft's stock won't fall, but there's certainly no reason to think that we can predict the swings of Microsoft's stock price any better than Goldman Sachs or Citibank can. So no, don't short Microsoft.

brianH

Post by brianH » Sat Oct 27, 2012 1:19 pm

MSFT is far more than just their home computer operating system, which Windows 8 falls into. Some counterpoints off the top of my head:

-Many businesses will be forced to move off Windows XP to Windows 7 in the coming year as XP support expires. $$$ in MS's pocket
-Windows Server 2008 and 2013 OS are and will be in wide use for many years to come to support LOB applications
-SQL Server database software makes them a boatload of money. One of the best databases in the industry.
-MS Office, love it or hate it, still the standard for most businesses. New version out early next year.