Getting married - what do I do for retirement?

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
comptalk

Getting married - what do I do for retirement?

Post by comptalk »

I run a small business, so we talked, and we agreed it is best to file married, filing separately. I make around 100k per year, she makes around the same. I contribute to my solo 401k around 40k a year. So what do I do with the retirement contributions after I am married? We're getting married in March 2013.

Suffice to say, I'm concerned.
livesoft

Re: Getting married - what do I do for retirement?

Post by livesoft »

You keep making those contributions, so I don't really understand your concerns and question. Since she is working, she can do the same. The only thing you need to do is change the beneficiary designation on your retirement plans.

I am not an expert, but filing separately would never benefit our situation, so what specifically makes you all want to do that?

And to help save on taxes, you might read the "$200,000 income" thread which has lots of actionable items on how to minimize your taxes: http://www.bogleheads.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=79510
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
Cut-Throat

Post by Cut-Throat »

comptalk wrote:I run a small business, so we talked, and we agreed it is best to file married, filing separately. I make around 100k per year, she makes around the same. I contribute to my solo 401k around 40k a year. So what do I do with the retirement contributions after I am married? We're getting married in March 2013.

Suffice to say, I'm concerned.
This seems more like a relationship question , than an investing question.
I sense a bit of 'My Money, Her Money' in these statements. Are you sure you're committed to Marriage?
Have you had the Money Talk? Do you both feel the same way about money? Goals etc.
stonerolled

Post by stonerolled »