45 and wondering if I should stop investing altogether?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
ChampagneOfBeers

45 and wondering if I should stop investing altogether?

Post by ChampagneOfBeers »

Hello; first post...Any advice appreciated...hopefully not too informal; I'm a tech writer and it is the weekend...

So have a ready please...what would you do? Overall question...continue saving in 401k to max it out? Or save the bare minimum company match, and use the extra money to do the things you always wanted to do (vacations/motorcycle), but never could all along because of saving to get to this point...

Here goes...

I'm 45. I've worked full time uninterrupted since 1986. I have made over $95,000 a year since 1996; many years reaching $145,000 with bonus. Used to live in major metropolitan dot.com area, with new IT technologies was able to move to very inexpensive place to live (Southern US). Have a $275,000 house that is paid off. Only remaining debt is a $13,000 car loan on brand new vehicle. Have $435,000 in 401k. Have $70,000 in cash. We plan on living in our house the rest of our lives, we love the area.

Life really couldn't be better.