Want to start with Roth IRA

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Tugaboo

Want to start with Roth IRA

Post by Tugaboo » Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:31 am

I am a college student (23) working part-time, no student loans, and have some income to start retirement investing.
Looking at about $3000 into a Roth IRA, averaging hopefully 6-8%, low risk, over the long term, with flexibility to change
funds if necessary over time, but don't know where to start.
Suggestions needed.

ObliviousInvestor

Re: Want to start with Roth IRA

Post by ObliviousInvestor » Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:09 am

Welcome to the forum! :)

It's great that you have no debt and are getting started early.
Tugaboo wrote:averaging hopefully 6-8%, low risk, over the long term.
Unfortunately, this part is not possible. To earn returns in the 6-8% range, you would have to use high-risk investments (most likely: stocks). And there's no way to know ahead of time what type of return stocks will earn over any particular period. 6-8% may be a reasonable guess, but it's not a sure-thing.

You may want to start with the "investing start-up kit" on the Bogleheads wiki: http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Boglehea ... art-up_kit
Mike Piper, author/blogger

DVMResident

Post by DVMResident » Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:22 pm

+1 The wiki is great.

You get $5,000 per year for ROTH IRAs. Once the time passes, you no longer have access the previous years ROTH IRA.

You have until April to open a ROTH IRA for 2011. I think it'd be good to open the ROTH IRA for 2011 now, put it in the money market account (it's kind of like a savings account) just to hold, and wait to your more educated before deciding what to invest in. It can sit in the money market account as long as you like, years even.

There is no rush to choose investments, but you do have limited time to open the 2011 ROTH IRA.

When you're ready, you can use the money in the money market account to buy stocks.

Tugaboo