Thoughts on Global ex-U.S. Real Estate

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
tc101

Thoughts on Global ex-U.S. Real Estate

Post by tc101 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:27 pm

What are your thoughts on Vanguard Global ex-U.S. Real Estate ? Expenses on the ETF are only .35%. Is this an important and useful diversifier, or is it unnecessary?
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

Liquid

Re: Thoughts on Global ex-U.S. Real Estate

Post by Liquid » Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:36 pm

I wish the 90% passthrough for US REITs applied to foreign real estate. Nevertheless, it represents a large chunk of the investment universe and as such is probably attractive to those who seek a total market approach.

dharrythomas

Post by dharrythomas » Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:16 pm

I've got it. About the same sized holding as my US REIT. It should be a diversifier, whether it helps returns I'll only know in hindsight.

Good Luck

Harry

abuss368
Location: Where the water is warm, the drinks are cold, and I don't know the names of the players!

Post by abuss368 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:27 pm

I am very interested in this fund and have been watching it.

While the fund s only $270 million dollars after a year plus in existence, I think there are a few things Vanguard could consider to attract more assets into the fund:

1) The name of the fund just stinks. How about "Total International Real Estate Index Fund" for starters?

2) Remove the purchase and redemption fees.

3) The annual dividend has to change. For a Real Estate fund, it has to go to a quarterly or at least twice a year payout. Most folks invest in real estate/reits for the payouts.

I would think these changes would make the fund much more marketable resulting in additional inflow of assets and corresponding decrease in fees.