Lifecycle Investing Leverage Strategy Using LEAPS - How To?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Park

Lifecycle Investing Leverage Strategy Using LEAPS - How To?

Postby Park » Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:19 pm

In the book "Lifecycle Investing", leverage is recommended for retirement savings, if the time horizon is long enough. This post is about how one can implement this strategy using LEAPS (long term options).

My first disclaimer is I'm a novice when it comes to options. My second disclaimer is I'm NOT making a blanket endorsement of leverage. But for some investors, it is a reasonable option to consider. Those who consider it should think about it long and carefully.

The authors recommend buying LEAPS call options on SPY, an S&P500 ETF. The reason for SPY is its comparatively high liquidity, versus other options. This limits the diversification potential of this strategy.

Call options consist of elements of leverage and downside protection. The downside protection increases the implied interest rate. To make leverage work, one wants the implied interest rate as low as possible. Therefore, one wants minimal downside protection.

To keep the implied interest rate low, one wants the extrinsic volatility or time value of the call option to be as close to zero as possible.

One also wants the call option return to correlate as highly as possible with the return of SPY. In other words, one wants delta to be as close to 1.0 as possible.

To achieve these ends, the authors advocate 2 year deep in the money call options on SPY.

http://www.investopedia.com/articles/op ... z1iSnfqEBc

http://seekingalpha.com/article/28161-i ... n-steroids

The above 2 links provide a way to implement this strategy. It is suggested to roll over LEAPS call options: "a two-year LEAP call could be held for a single year and then sold and replaced by another two-year option."