Supplement portfolio with REIT Index?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
golfallday

Supplement portfolio with REIT Index?

Post by golfallday »

Very grateful for the help the members have given me on these boards. Everytime I visit the site, I learn something new....indeed, I'm an amateur at this. I use VIIIX and VBTIX in my 457 plan; I use VTHRX for my Roth IRA. (I try to keep it simple!) Total portfolio is currently 73% stocks and 27% bonds. I'm comfortable with that mix as I have 25 years to retire and I should have a nice pension when I pull the plug. Does anybody see a problem with me selling off some VTHRX and buying VGSLX so that REITs make up 10-15% of the stock portfolio? Happy and healthy 2012 to all. Cheers!
dbr

Re: Supplement portfolio with REIT Index?

Post by dbr »

I don't see a problem with doing it and I don't see a problem with not doing it. The idea is the REITs do not cause a tax problem by being in the Roth.

A different issue that might be a problem is at what point does the investor arrive at a stay-the-course asset allocation. It would not be good to decide on 10%-15% REITs now and decide on no REITs later on.
jasonlitka

Post by jasonlitka »

My REIT allocation is 5% of my total portfolio. That works out to about 13% of my domestic stock and about 7% of my total stock. Optimistically, I've got 30 years before retirement. I think you'll be fine.
Jason Litka
ruralavalon

Post by ruralavalon »

Does anybody see a problem with me selling off some VTHRX and buying VGSLX so that REITs make up 10-15% of the stock portfolio?
I see no problem with that. Our portfolio targets REIT at 5% overall, 10% of equities, 14% of domestic equities.
"Everything should be as simple as it is, but not simpler." - Albert Einstein | Wiki article link: Bogleheads® investment philosophy
White Coat Investor

Post by White Coat Investor »