College Student, No-debt, $20,000 Need Advice

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
l Taz l

Post by l Taz l »

I am new to investing and I am looking for some financial advice. I am a 20-year old college student, with no debt, and I recently received $20k. I want to invest the money, but I do not know what I should do. I currently have a mutual fund with some money, and a emergency fund with around 4 months of my yearly salary.

I have thought about investing in a traditional IRA, stocks, or a vanguard mutual fund.

My question to you is, if you were in my shoes what would you do with the money?
livesoft

Post by livesoft »

I would take a few bucks of it and buy some of the books on the recommended reading list and then read them.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
kilowattcorn

Re: College Student, No-debt, $20,000 Need Advice

Post by kilowattcorn »

l Taz l wrote:I am new to investing and I am looking for some financial advice. I am a 20-year old college student, with no debt, and I recently received $20k. I want to invest the money, but I do not know what I should do. I currently have a mutual fund with some money, and a emergency fund with around 4 months of my yearly salary.

I have thought about investing in a traditional IRA, stocks, or a vanguard mutual fund.

My question to you is, if you were in my shoes what would you do with the money?
If you have taxable earned income, max out a contribution to Traditional IRA (such as the Vanguard Tradtional IRA account). This will offset some of your income tax.

Put the rest in a low-cost fund account of your choosing. If you have nothing else to do with the money, the Target Retirement accounts are a nice way to not worry about it, and is appropriate for both your taxable accounts and IRA. If you think you'll spend it soon, be sure to pick a fund that does not have a minimum holding period.