$700,000 to last a lifetime: what do you do with it?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
n2ojones

$700,000 to last a lifetime: what do you do with it?

Post by n2ojones »

Hi..

This was a component of a question I asked in another sub-forum. Thought I'd try my luck here.

Without complicating this question, let me just say that I am 50...married and probably will never be able to work again. I have $300k in cash. Can net about $400k if I choose to sell my real estate in Hawaii.

My wife is a Thai national and we would consider a move to her country. I don't think we could live on much less than $4k per month (even there) but may be forced to do so.

I have very little knowledge of stocks and bonds but will work hard to learn.

If you had $700k and knew it would have to last about 30 years and believe SS will still be around in a dozen years.....what would you do?

I thank you in advance.
livesoft

Post by livesoft »

I would use it to buy a book on how to live on $25K or less a year including all health/dental/medical expenses. I would also try to get my wife to work in a high paying job.
Mel Lindauer

Re: $700,000 to last a lifetime: what do you do with it?

Post by Mel Lindauer »

n2ojones wrote:Hi..

This was a component of a question I asked in another sub-forum. Thought I'd try my luck here.

Without complicating this question, let me just say that I am 50...married and probably will never be able to work again. I have $300k in cash. Can net about $400k if I choose to sell my real estate in Hawaii.

My wife is a Thai national and we would consider a move to her country. I don't think we could live on much less than $4k per month (even there) but may be forced to do so.

If you had $700k and knew it would have to last about 30 years and believe SS will still be around in a dozen years.....what would you do?

I thank you in advance.