$200k, retirement, home purchase - Thoughts?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Heal22

$200k, retirement, home purchase - Thoughts?

Post by Heal22 »

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to investing and would love some advice on my situation. I've been saving for a house for the past six years, but now I'm reconsidering my plan. I might delay the purchase for another year as I may need to leave my current living situation by next year.

Here's my financial situation:
- Maxed out Roth IRA ($7k this year) with investments in QQQ and IVV (started this year).
- I work for a large US city and I'm currently maxing out my tax-deferred investment account with 8.25% interest, contributing the maximum allowed ($23k per year, just maxed out this year).
- $15k in a standard investment account, all invested in VOO.
- $200k in a high-yield savings account earning 4.25%. This is the money I saved for a house, but if I delay buying for another year, I wonder if I should invest this money in the market. Is a year too short to ride out market fluctuations?

I've considered moving a portion of the $200k to a UFB savings account with 5.25% interest for funds allocated for the property purchase.

Any suggestions for maximizing retirement interest while keeping a portion of my money liquid and accruing interest? I respect and admire everyone's knowledge on this site, so any feedback is greatly appreciated!
Ostentatious

Re: $200k, retirement, home purchase - Thoughts?

Post by Ostentatious »

It looks likes you answered your own question. 1 year is not long term. In fact it is a very short term with respect to investing. Don't invest any money you're going to need in less than 3 (sometimes 5) years.
Harmanic

Post by Harmanic »