Super New To Investing and Looking For Advice.

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Optimistic.Pessimist

Super New To Investing and Looking For Advice.

Post by Optimistic.Pessimist »

Hi Bogleheads,

First, wanted to say that I’m super new to investing and the finance world. Second, I am 32 years of age and About 6 months ago I opened a Target Date fund on vanguard and I am on target to max it before April 15 2024 for 2023. Lastly, I wanted to know what other investments I can do to make my retirement worth while.

I’m a freelancer that works in the entertainment industry (tv shows, movies, commercial) so no 401k.

I also wanted to see what investments I can get started for my son that’s almost 2 years of age and another child that due in November. I wanted to get them a head start in life. But not sure what I can contribute to for them or if there is anything I can do for them.

Would love something super easy and simple.

Only investment platforms I have are

Vanguard and Robinhood.

Type of Account: Roth IRA w/ Vanguard

No employees

Tax Bracket: Mostly 12%, One time I was in the 22% / Depends on how much I work in the year.

Filing Status: Jointly

State Income taxes: Califorinia

Health Insurance plan and pension plan through employer

No 1090, I have a W2, I have multiple Employers for the career I'm in.

Emergency Fund is currently at 32800 / contribute 150 a month currently

My Spouse is currently a Stay at home wife. So no income there.
Last edited by Optimistic.Pessimist on Tue Apr 02, 2024 11:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
22twain

Re: Super New To Investing and Looking For Advice.

Post by 22twain »

Optimistic.Pessimist wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 11:46 pm About 6 months ago I opened a Target Date fund on vanguard and I am on target to max it before April 15 2024 for 2023